top of page
Search

Twenty Beliefs That Have Shaped 20 Years

By: Alex Cussimanio



It is crazy to think about how fast the past two decades of my life have flown by. I have learned so much about myself, life itself, and society throughout my life and I feel like I learn something new every day. There have been many moments full of fun and laughter and many that are full of tears and devastation. Here are twenty things I whole-heartly believe in and these things have added significance to my life in one way or another. I hope at least one of these things you can resonate with or foster into your day to day life!


1. Be yourself. And don't let what others have to say bring you down:

You’ve probably heard this saying a million times and thought to yourself “easier said than done.”, but I truly experienced a sense of self worth when I began applying this to my life. True happiness comes from authenticity.


2. Do what you want to do, not what everyone else does:

Pursue your passions and follow your own path. Although it seems easy to do what everyone around you is doing, conforming to societal expectations might not lead to personal fulfillment. 


3. Eat whatever you want. If the 2nd scoop of ice cream is going to make you happy just eat it:

Enjoy life's simple pleasures, and don't let guilt dictate your choices.  It’s easy to guilt yourself into not indulging in what you want, but you should treat yourself to the things that bring joy without overthinking. 


4. Find the small joys in life and make time for them:

 Appreciate the little moments that bring happiness, whether it's a warm cup of tea, a beautiful sunset, or a good book. Find the small things that bring you joy and Incorporate these into your daily routine.


5. Go on coffee dates with your friends:

Prioritize meaningful connections. Simple moments, like coffee dates, can strengthen friendships and create lasting memories. I noticed a huge difference in the quality of my relationships when I set aside specific time to prioritize them. 


6. Focus on the small things and the small wins:

Acknowledge and celebrate small achievements. Cultivating gratitude for the little things can lead to a more positive outlook. At the end of the day, find joy in the small wins rather than the negative ones. 


7. Fight for what you believe in:

Persistence and determination can lead to success. Pursue your goals with dedication, even if challenges arise along the way. It might be hard to stay true to your passions but, in the end it will be worth it. 


8. Call your mom:

Maintain a strong connection with family. A call to your mom can offer support, love, and valuable advice. Even if it’s not your mom, find the person you can call at any hour. 


9. Book the trip. Travel is seriously the best thing you could do with your time and money:

Invest in experiences!!! Travel broadens your perspective, creates lasting memories, and allows you to explore different cultures. Start a change jar, before your vacation cash in your coins, you will be surprised at how fast it adds up (and now you have extra spending money)!


10. Money comes back. Save some and spend some!

Buy the thing you’ve been eyeing for a while! I am a firm believer that you should set spending money aside. Whether it's a little each month and you save that for something you want, I love having a little extra motivation to save towards something that I am really wanting at the moment!


11. Celebrate everything. Make a balloon banner for no reason and be extra with everything just because it's fun:

Infuse joy into your life by celebrating both big and small moments. Embrace the small moments and find pleasure in the simple act of celebration. I absolutely love going all out for every occasion, it adds to the joy of the moment and the memories! 


12. Be kind to everyone!!!:

Practice kindness in your interactions. People may be facing their own challenges, and a kind word or gesture can make a significant difference. You never know who needs a smile from a random stranger. 


13. Be intentional, find ways to show the people you care about that you love them:

Demonstrate your love through intentional actions. Thoughtful gestures and genuine expressions of care strengthen relationships. I noticed after taking the love languages assessment, I show my love through gift giving, but this could look different for everyone!


14. Always have fresh flowers somewhere in your room (they make me so happy!):

Again, surround yourself with elements that bring you joy. Fresh flowers can add a touch of beauty and positivity to your living space. 


15. Find ways to remind yourself you are loved:

Cultivate self-love and surround yourself with reminders of your worth. This can include positive affirmations, supportive relationships, and self-care practices. I do this by going to yoga because there is a lot of quiet time that allows me to disregard what is happening in school or work and focus on me.


16. Say yes (not to everything but just enough):

Some of my biggest regrets are things I said no to or didn't end up doing. When I began saying yes to more things, I curated new relationships and opportunities that have led me to where I am today. 


17. Don't overcommit yourself. You will end up burnt out:

Along with saying yes to everything, it is so important to realize when you have over-committed yourself. Nothing is worse than having a plate that is overflowing and you feel like your life is all over the place. Sometimes there will be great opportunities but they don't fit in your schedule and that's okay. 


18. Find new ways to learn and feed your curiosity:

Cultivate a curious mindset. Continuous learning, whether through books, courses, or experiences, keeps your mind engaged and fosters personal growth. I absolutely love to learn and feel like I feel so much more accomplished when I am continually learning. 


19. Always have a source to be your creative outlet:

Nurture your creativity. Having an outlet, whether it's art, writing, or another form of expression, allows you to channel your emotions and ideas. 


20. Trust that everything happens for a reason:

It is not always easy to see in the moment but eventually, you’ll understand why. There have been so many moments in my life where I've been frustrated with the outcome, but later one (whether that's a month, year, or years later) I have found significance from that outcome. Take these moments as a learning experience and use them to your advantage. 


 

About The Author:


Alex Cussimanio '26

Human Dimensions of Organizations

Entrepreneurial LeadHERship Fall 2023 Student




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page