top of page
Search

Ranking Study Spots at The University of Texas at Austin

If you’re anything like me, studying in a dorm room is impossible, and finding a comfortable place to get work done can be tricky. In search of the perfect study spot, I have tested out and reviewed some of the “top study spots” on the UT Austin campus. Here is what a few of my experiences have looked like to help you decide where you spend your finals week studying.




Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL)

The PCL has been my go-to study spot for the semester. The PCL is open 24 hours, so whether it’s the night before a test, the due date of an assignment, or a weird hour in between classes, I know I can go and get some work done.


Location: Living in Jester makes the location of the PCL ideal. With a walk of only a few minutes, getting to the PCL is easy in all weather conditions and doesn’t require much planning or thought before walking over. The location is also central to many of the buildings on campus, so commuters are easily able to stay on campus and get some work done in between classes.


Focusability: By providing a variety of study spaces, the PCL caters to several different learning environments which allows you to pick what works best for you. I find it easy to focus in the PCL because no matter what floor I am on, I am surrounded by people working, making me feel obligated to do the same. 


Amenities: My favorite thing about the PCL is the variety of study options it offers. You can study inside, outside, in a study room, at an isolated desk, or on a couch. The building also provides whiteboards, printers, and computers to facilitate whatever work you are trying to do. With many tables and sections to work in, seating is usually not an issue. 


Aesthetic: The aesthetic of the PCL depends on which area within you decide to use. I usually gravitate towards the edges of the building to get a window view. Otherwise, the carpet and dim lighting can make me feel less comfortable. At the tables outside the front of the PCL, however, the tower view and proximity to Speedway provides an unmatched aesthetic.




William C. Powers, Jr. Student Activity Center (WCP):

The WCP is a student activity center that offers a place for student events, dining, and studying. The building is open 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM weekdays, 12:00 - 10:00 PM Sundays, and 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM Saturdays. These hours allow for a flexible study schedule, though limited if you are looking for a midnight study session. 


Location: Located along Speedway and adjacent to Gregory Gym, the WCP’s location is very convenient in between classes. I pass the building fairly often daily, so making a stop to study is very easy. Walking from my dorm is only a few minutes, but I probably would be less willing to make the walk if it were raining or icy outside. 


Amenities: The WCP offers a variety of spaces to study, reserve for gatherings or relax in. While there are a variety of spaces, the amount of seating is slightly limited and I did find myself having to search for an empty seat. The restaurants available in the WCP make for a convenient study snack or drink, but the smell of Chick-fil-A can get distracting at times. 


Aesthetic: The WCP has a well-lit modern vibe which I found inviting and comfortable to work in. I enjoyed the visual atmosphere within the building but found the outside patio more appealing. Right under the trees with a view of Speedway made for an aesthetically pleasing study experience.


Focusability: I found it easy to focus at the WCP as most other people are also there to study. There were a few times that I caught myself getting distracted with people-watching, but distractions were limited. The only thing that held my attention more than once was the discomfort of the metal seats. Comfort plays a big factor in my ability to focus on a task, so being uncomfortable made it a bit difficult to concentrate at times. 




Main Mall:

Since becoming a student at UT Austin, I have loved the idea of studying on the grass at the Main Mall. Right in between the UT Tower and the Texas Capitol building, I thought it would be the most iconic place to be. Seeing so many others studying there, I decided to try it, and it did not live up to the hype.


Location: The Main Mall is pretty central to campus, so the walk was easy and the location wasn’t too out of the way. Being a short walk from Guadalupe Street also makes the Main Mall convenient for those impromptu snack runs during study breaks. 


Amenities: Aside from the view, the Main Mall's offerings are somewhat limited. There are a few benches which are limited in quantity but there is plenty of grass space if you are fine taking a seat on the ground. I ended up having to move twice – initially seeking relief from the hot sun and later, to avoid the unfortunate presence of a decaying pumpkin right next to me.


Aesthetic: Studying at the Main Mall was aesthetically pleasing for the most part. Facing the Capital Building, the scenery was nice to look at, and the noise level did not distract me. Sunlight offered an energizing atmosphere and the trees created a natural ambiance. 


Focusability: A combination of different types of distractions made focusing difficult at the main mall. Constantly checking for ants, thinking about the heat, and looking at the view kept me from zoning in on my work and made productivity low. For this reason, I don’t think I would go back to study at the Main Mall, but I would go for a picnic or hang out. 





Life Science Library:

The Life Science Library in the tower offers a quiet place to study Monday through Friday 8 AM - 5 PM. The library is located in the UT Tower and houses collections of bioscience research.


Location: Like the Main Mall, the tower is central to campus. Getting to the tower can be inconvenient depending on time and weather conditions but having classes in that area makes for an easy study break in between.


Amenities: Along with a collection of science resources, the Life Science Library offers printers, scanners, and computer access. The library offers group tables, couches and individual tables but the number of seats available was comparatively low compared to the other study spots.


Aesthetic: The Life Science Library offers the best study aesthetic I have seen yet. The wooden furniture is homey and elegant, and the warm lighting feels comforting. It felt like I was studying inside a Pinterest board.


Focusability: Because of the silence, I was easily able to focus in the Life Science Library. The only time I wasn’t working was when I stopped to admire the room. Everyone around me was focused and working, making it easy to do the same.



 

About the Author:


Mithra Cama' 27

Economics

Web Communications Committee

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page