top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of YouUnited


How did you come up with the idea for your business?


With the pandemic, discussing with my friends internationally and working with immigrant students in the Austin community made me realize that a lot of the students I was working with didn’t have access to the same resources or opportunities which I had growing up. Therefore, I started YouUnited to expand access to education so that people of all backgrounds can have the opportunities needed to grow and discover their passions so they will be able to do what they love.





What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?


As a student, it can be challenging to balance being an entrepreneur alongside my classes, extracurriculars, and social life. But I always find a way to make time for it, whether it’s writing up grant applications on the bus or scattering team meetings between classes.


What are some of the top things you have learned so far?


Surround yourself with people that believe in and love your vision as much as you do.



Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?


I’ve always been very involved in my community, tutoring students and meeting people from diverse backgrounds. Directly connecting with people who shared their different experiences and perspectives kickstarted my passion for bringing change in my community.



What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?


Launching our website after months of development, providing a resource that thousands of students worldwide are using. Being featured in articles on CollegeVine and CrimsonECL and receiving funding from Hershey’s.



What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?


“You cannot stand for someone without including them”. I realized that the most important quality in a leader is the genuine desire to understand those we are serving.



What’s a fun fact about you?


I’m a thrill seeker and love trying new things.



 

About The Author:






Founder of YouUnited

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page