top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of Read Free

Updated: Mar 29


How did you come up with the idea for your business?


I became very concerned with the rise in banned books across the U.S. and especially in Texas. When looking at the statistics, there is a very clear and very disturbing picture that emerges. Modern book bans are overwhelmingly targeting diverse books. Of the 2,571 unique titles challenged in 2022, the vast majority were written by or about members of the LGBTQIA+ community or by and about Black people, Indigenous people, and people of color. After taking the class “Banned Books and Novel Ideas” for my English degree, I felt particularly empowered to start creating content about the freedom to read. My first project was the creation of the Read Free podcast which you can find on Spotify and Apple Podcasts! 


What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?


Read Free operates like a side hustle for me. Full time, I’m a Corporate Social Responsibility/Marketing professional. When I have the time, I focus on Read Free. Shockingly, writing deeply researched podcast scripts is relaxing for me.


What are some of the top things you have learned so far?


You won’t get anywhere if you don’t ask for help. Honestly, I’m still trying to learn this lesson everyday but it’s become very clear to me that you can’t do everything alone. I often have big dreams and end up holding myself back simply because I didn’t ask for what I wanted. There are people out there who will want to support you and you need to network as an entrepreneur more than you ever have before to find them. 






Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?


KS WELI played a huge role in my development as an entrepreneur! I met former Student Board President Ingrid Villareal at the KS WELI International Women’s Day event in 2022 and joined the student board myself the following semester. That was around the same time as the launch of Founding Fearless, KS WELI’s original podcast. I was so inspired by Ingrid and Kamryn (Founding Fearless co-founder and co-host) that I created my own podcast with their help. 


What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?


The first episode of the Read Free Podcast got almost 250 streams within a week! I wasn’t really expecting anyone outside of my family to listen so this was pretty big for me. I’m planning on bringing the podcast back in 2024 with exciting new guests.





What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?


Seek out opportunity instead of waiting for it to be in front of you.


What’s a fun fact about you?


I compete in the Miss America pageant system and advocate for the freedom to read as my official community service initiative. Currently, I am serving as Miss Tarrant County and will compete for Miss Texas in June!




 

About The Author:






Founder of Read Free

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page