top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of One Love Beads


How did you come up with the idea for your business?


My friend was diagnosed with brain cancer in 2018. I began creating beaded bracelets in honor of her battle to raise childhood brain cancer awareness and donate the proceeds to her. I found my passion for philanthropy work, so I started a jewelry business with the goal of making large social impacts in the future. After I began selling my jewelry, my mom passed away from colon cancer, furthering my desire to help those who have been affected by cancer in a creative way. I want to support young women who are battling cancer or are suffering from the experience of a loved one fighting the devastating illness by creating jewelry that represents the strength it takes to cope with such a painful hardship. 



What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?


Google Calendar has been my key to success during my first semester of college! I juggle school work, an internship, business organization committee positions, and my entrepreneurial journey. I am loving what my life looks like on a daily basis. I have grown up participating in many extracurriculars, so managing a busy schedule is second nature to me. I have surrounded myself with motivating friends in the Women in Business Association and KS WELI that bring me joy at my daily events and meetings after a long day of class and studying. I spend a lot of time researching new ideas and ways I can contribute to my company’s mission. I am working on finding a balance within my daily routine to be able to take care of myself while pursuing my goals.  






What are some of the top things you have learned so far?


It is crucial to stay true to myself and pursue what I am passionate about. One Love Beads reflects my personality because it showcases my creativity and passion for helping others. I chose the entrepreneurial route because I want to make a difference in areas that are meaningful to me. 


Seeking a support system is one of the keys to success. It has been helpful to surround myself with people who are as excited about my goals as I am. I have learned how special it is to have kind friends who are willing to help me. I have met many sweet people that have helped me during my first semester as I begin my career and find my fit. 




Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?


My mother’s battle against cancer has inspired me to become an entrepreneur because I want to be able to sustain her legacy through my business. Her battle taught me that I can accomplish anything if I am strong and diligent. She inspired my goal of hosting workshops specifically for young women who have battled cancer or are affected by a loved one battling the disease. I want to inspire these young women by sharing my story in the hope that they will fight hard and never give up. 



What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?


I am proud of my company’s mission. My goal is to directly impact the lives of young women who are battling cancer or have been affected by a loved one diagnosed with the illness.  


I am proud that I had the confidence to negotiate with business owners about selling my jewelry in their shops at only fourteen years old. I lacked confidence when I was younger, so I really surprised myself when I decided to put myself out there with my business. 



What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?


The best advice I’ve received along my entrepreneurial journey has been to focus on building my personal brand. My habits, hobbies, style, and attitude contribute to my brand. I am constantly working on being the best I can possibly be.



What’s a fun fact about you? 

I enjoy snorkeling, playing the drums, and flying airplanes. 


 

About The Author:






Founder of One Love Beads

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page