top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of KEFI by MG

Updated: Oct 19, 2023


How did you come up with the idea for your business?


If you’ve ever attended a recruiting fair or networking event, you probably know that the majority of the time people wear neutral-colored outfits. As a UT student at McCombs, I was surrounded by many black and blue suits which led me to showcase some of my personality through my accessories. Having a colorful accessory always brought me a bit of joy during high pressure events, and I quickly realized recruiters would remember me because of my colorful eyeglasses among the pool of neutral-colored suits and resumes. So, there began my strategy to always wear a unique and bright statement piece.



What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?


I kick off my day with a morning walk, listen to my pump song as I do my skincare routine, and prep for the day. Then I have a light initial breakfast while I review my personal/business to-do list for the day. After I'm done reviewing my to-do list, I jump onto my desk and start my 9-5 job as a Social Lead for Dell Technologies. If possible, I try to schedule any of my personal/business calls during the middle of the day while in my work break, or power thru emails/meetings/projects to log off earlier to then jump on to my own daily KEFI projects. Something crucial for me during this new entrepreneurial journey is making time in the afternoon for a fun activity that gets my body moving such as a kickboxing class, dance fitness, or finding a trail to explore. I have learned from other entrepreneurs that creating a routine focused on prioritizing my mental/physical health will make this journey more manageable.




What are some of the top things you have learned so far?


1- Why not? What if it turns out better than you think? Stop overthinking and waiting for perfection because one small action item is better than nothing.


2- Ask for help. People are very supportive and want to share their expertise and connect you with potential resources. When you share your passion behind the work you’re doing with others, they will see part of your vision and will likely want to follow your journey.


3- Imposter syndrome will more than likely try to enter your mind, but you need to shut it down. Do not compare whichever stage your business is currently navigating, but rather redirect your thoughts to see what other entrepreneurs are successfully working on and learn from their experience.



Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?


I’ve always had an entrepreneurial spirit. My mom said I would try to sell some of my toys when I was younger for a high price to kids, so my parents knew I would end up on a business path.


Growing up my dad inspired me to make my own path. He immigrated from Mexico to the US without finishing his primary school education or knowing english. He taught himself many trade skills He ventured on his own and started a car auto shop business as well as a real estate business through perseverance and being business savvy. If he can do all that, I was sure with my determination and my dreams of having my own brand would come to life one day.





What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?


Attending concerts/music festivals where random people would ask me where they could buy my designs. It’s a special moment to get stopped by dozens of people at big events where they love something you created and want to purchase it.



What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?


Don’t be afraid to reach out to people and ask for help. Make connections. The life of your dreams may be one question or conversation away.


What’s a fun fact about you?


I have house-sat since the Summer of 2022 in Texas, Chicago, Mexico City, and Oaxaca which has allowed me to become a digital nomad and solo-traveler. It’s the perfect way to explore new cities, save on crazy rent, and find inspiration as I experience moments of my life.



 

About The Author:






Marisa Garza '21

Founder of KEFI by MG

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page