top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of Inner Becoming



How did you come up with the idea for your business?

Through my own experiences of growth, healing, and change, I realized we are not doomed to be victims of our circumstances. It is never too late to begin living the life we desire because we all have a choice to connect to our purpose, live authentically, and contribute with our unique gifts. My interest in human possibilities, healing, and change is what led me to pursue a master’s degree in counseling and becoming a therapist. Inner Becoming was born out of my belief in transformation, my enthusiasm for personal growth, and a desire to own my business. Ever since I intentionally started working towards becoming a psychotherapist, I knew I wanted to own a private practice, but when I finished my internship, I was faced with a decision of whether to work in an agency or follow my knowing and desire. I decided to follow my intuition and not settle or succumb to expectations of others. That’s why I started Inner Becoming.


What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?

My days always start with quiet time, coffee, and journaling. I am functioning at my best when I create space for myself first thing in the morning and take my time to be intentional. After journaling and setting my intention for the day, I do my daily workout, shower, and get ready to see clients. I am fortunate to have a nice, cozy home office where I work and see clients online. On Fridays I typically don’t have sessions and it is a day to work on my business. I love to spend my weekends doing relaxing, fun, and creative things. My favorite things outside of work include: trying new restaurants, walking my dog, being active, reading, spending time in nature, hosting friends for dinners, and creating content for my newsletter and social media!


What are some of the top things you have learned so far?

One of the things that stops a lot of people from bringing their ideas and dreams to life is not knowing how they will do it. Expecting yourself to know how to do something you’ve never done before is an impossible expectation to fulfill, but if you’re willing to keep learning new things, make mistakes, be determined, and think beyond your current circumstances, you will eventually succeed. Don’t give up because you don’t know how!


Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

I’ve always dreamt of creating success on my own terms and over time I realized that for me, that meant starting my own practice instead of working for others. I wanted to make decisions that made the most sense to me and that aligned with my values. I value freedom and autonomy and that guided my decision making. In addition to that, I love reading and listening to inspirational women like Oprah, Sara Blakely, Kendra Scott, and Brooke Castillo. I am deeply inspired by women who have forged their own path and are shifting paradigms of what it means to be an entrepreneur.


What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?

Overcoming self-doubt and fear is something I’m very proud of. As a first-generation business owner, believing that this was possible for me didn’t naturally come to me. I didn’t grow up believing that having my own business was ever a possibility! It took a lot of intentional work and dedication to learn how to believe in myself, trust my decision-making, and foster an abundance mindset.


What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?

The best advice I received and the one that still guides me is: “Starve your fears, feed your desires!” When you’re doing something new and unknown, doubt will creep in and try to convince you to quit. I learned that I always have the choice of whether I feed the doubt and fear or whether I focus on my “why” and the possibilities that lay ahead.



 

About The Author:





Sladja Redner '17

Founder of Inner Becoming

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page