top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of Heartening


How did you come up with the idea for your business?

Heartening is an expression of love for my community written in code. I felt heartsick seeing the perfectly good unwanted items neighbors were tossing in dumpsters, on curbs, and into the trash. I knew that if only the unwanted items knew where they were wanted, people would help them get there. I knew I couldn’t rescue every item from the curb myself, so it would take technology to help us.


What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?

My days are longer, most certainly! And I sweat more. As a solopreneur starting a new venture, I am the one pounding the pavement. I pick up unwanted items, haul truckloads, and roll up my sleeves to sort, clean, and repair items. I spend late nights updating data and writing code, pondering how to scale most efficiently.




What are some of the top things you have learned so far?

  1. The way we deal with our unwanted items has a profound effect on the world.

  2. We, as a community, are rich in what we share together, but poor in what we keep alone.

  3. Your items are wanted and worthy of giving — each and every one of them. It’s just about finding the right place at the right time.


Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

They say necessity is the mother of invention — and getting laid off spurred my necessity. I was at Twitter, working hard at a job I loved and, despite a recent promotion, I was unceremoniously kicked to the curb. I felt unwanted and unworthy so it was a healing process for me to pick up items others were discarding and help them find a second life and love with someone new. I needed a reason to change out of pajamas and get to work so I started volunteering. As I volunteered, I witnessed needs in the community firsthand. I heard the pleas for donations, working in donation sorting rooms and studied sorting processes. Daily, I reflected on how we as a whole community can share, exchange, and donate items with more careful intention.


What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?

One day a woman said to me “My husband passed away two years ago and I haven’t been able to bring myself to donate any of his things until I found your project .” At that moment, I realized the profound privilege I have to honor people’s belongings.


What’s the best advice you received along your journey?

I was told to stop worrying about founding a “company” — instead, found a movement, a mindset, a habit, a community.


What’s a fun fact about you?

I’ve fostered over 270 kittens throughout the last 8 years. They are encouraging little teammates who remind me daily that life is worth living and love is worth giving. They own the world (and every chair in it) because they love freely and fully. Cats live with the mindset that if we take care of others, something out there in the universe will take care of us.



 

About The Author:







Founder of Heartening

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page