top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the founder of HairSpace

Updated: Oct 19, 2023


How did you come up with the idea for your business?


As I grew up, my go-to fix for my hair was the trusty flat iron, diligently smoothing out any hint of curls. My parents were in charge of untangling my hair, unintentionally steering me away from embracing my true hair type. The unexpected twist came in 2020, courtesy of my best friend Isabella, who suggested that the frizz I was battling might actually be the gateway to my hidden curls. That pivotal moment motivated me to dive into the world of curl care and learn the ropes.


However, as I scoured various sources for guidance, I realized that the information I needed was scattered all over the place. It was like a puzzle with missing pieces, and that frustration planted the seed for this business idea. I wanted to create a one-stop hub for all the insights and tricks I wished I'd found earlier – a place where people can easily access the wisdom they need to embrace and care for their natural hair.




What are some of the top things you have learned so far?


This business idea formed in the Women in Entrepreneurship course, where I had the privilege of working with a team of four other classmates who helped me build out a prototype and presentation. We were able to receive feedback from Kendra Scott and Jan Ryan, and working with a team gave me a chance to hear so many different perspectives and expand the platform beyond just curly hair. From genetic hair issues to dandruff, HairSpace aims to educate on every possible hair concern.




Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?


I never thought of myself as a possible entrepreneur, but taking the Women in Entrepreneurship course allowed me to explore the endless possibilities within the world of entrepreneurship. Jan Ryan, the professor for the class, advised students to take some time to think of a recurring problem in our lives. That time period of reflection is what sparked my idea!



 

About The Author:











Khushi Desai '25

Founder of HairSpace

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page