top of page
Search

If you can see HER, you can be HER - Q&A with the FoundHER of Burpie Baby

Updated: Sep 22, 2023


How did you come up with the idea for your business?

I was carpooling to lunch with one of my coworkers who was a new mom, and in the backseat, I saw huge trash bags of baby clothes piled up. She explained the baby clothes were her son’s, who has since grown double the size in mere months. My coworker was planning to haul the clothing to her mom friend’s house in hopes that they would fit her child. I listened to my coworker explain all the challenges of dressing a child that grows “an inch a minute” and how impossible it seemed to avoid waste. Thus, Burpie Baby was born!


What does the average day look like for you now as an entrepreneur (especially compared to past jobs/days)?

Balancing my day job in commercial construction with normal life is already challenging - add being a venture founder on top of it… whew! Working on Burpie Baby is a creative release for me and where I feel the most myself, so it is such a treat to have the time to sit down and get in the zone with my ideas. There is always that temptation to come home after work and lay dormant on your couch for hours, but I am learning that I feel more fulfilled when I reserve time for myself to pour into my venture everyday, even if it’s just a little bit.


What are some of the top things you have learned so far?

Knowing yourself is a requirement if you want to do anything great. The world will tell you you’re not enough in so many different ways, but your knowledge of yourself will allow you to thrive among the many perceptions of you, accurate or not. Go into everything knowing you are absolutely capable of figuring it out.





Who or what inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

I’ve always had the itch! Burpie Baby has come from a long lineage of businesses including many lemonade stands, a dog walking business, and a tutoring business. Whenever I get bored I start a business because it’s all so much fun to me!


What have been 1-2 of your proudest moments in creating your business?

I love when I tell people in my life about Burpie Baby and they get excited about it. It’s validating to know that there are people that think my idea is a good one - it gives me a boost to work harder at it.


What’s the best advice you have received along your journey?

Big tasks are comprised of many smaller steps. Entrepreneurship often presents very daunting roadblocks that you may or may not have the resources or skills to tackle right away, but once you identify smaller steps you can take to chip away at the problem, you’ll notice the problem isn't as impossible as you once thought.


What’s a fun fact about you?

I sing opera!


 

About The Author:








Eve Wang '22

Founder of Burpie Baby

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page