top of page
Search

4 Things to Know Before Your 20's




Your college years can be a scary thing. While it's supposed to be one of the most fun times of your life, a lot goes on, and every decision you take in one-way, shape, or form helps shape your future! Usually, unless you like to be super prepared and "plan" life, we don't think about what things are really going to help us be set for our 20s'. Instead, we just go with the flow and learn as we grow, so I decided to talk about four helpful things to know before your 20s! These four tips are a mix of life lessons, financial decisions, and career advice, all of which I have learned as my life sort of fans out. So with that, let's get started!


If you're an over-planner like me, you'll learn the hard way that "life's only certain thing is change," as my good friend Miley Cyrus said. Although we sometimes plan things, they will not go as planned. My first piece of advice is that it's important to know that your life is still panning out, and it's okay not to have things figured out.

Sometimes we think we know what's best for us, but little do we know that life has better things planned out for us and that those little detours lead us to the greater paths!


Within the same realm, my second and favorite advice is to not compare yourself to others; everyone has their own special path and is running at their own speed. I know, I know, it sounds cliche, but I learned the hard way that you have to do what YOU want to do, not because other people are doing it, you should follow that path. It took me a while to realize that although people may be doing things I thought I really wanted, I only wanted them because so many people were doing it too. I'm happy I learned how to distinguish what's good for me and what makes me happy vs. trends.


A sharp turn here, but start building your credit! This can be a tricky one because you also need to learn how to manage your finances. Your credit, believe it or not, is how companies define you. It's your second name, the way I see it. You'll need it when you're looking for an apartment or when you're looking to get your car, and the longer you have a credit history, the better it will turn out for you. With this, it is important to know that if you are using a credit card, use it only on things you need, things that you know you can pay for because not paying your credit card balance affects you way more than you think!


We are almost at the end, but it's important to know that whatever you choose to do after college does not define who you are. In other words, your career does not define your happiness. From networking, I have realized that there's a distinction between being happy at your job and being happy with your life. Crazy to say that, but we live in a culture where we have to make a distinction! It's also important to know that you must pick jobs that will fulfill you. In the end, money is not the tiebreaker, but being in a job that makes you happy and brings fulfillment is the golden ticket.


We are at the end of this short journey, and I know four seem like a small number, but they have significantly impacted my life. They have let me live for me! I hope they help you gain a better perspective of life and learn to accept the detours life brings you. If you take anything out of this, I hope it is that you learn to listen to your heart.



 

About The Author:



Nayelie Salazar '22

Corporate Communications

Entrepreneurial LeadHERship Course Student - Spring 2022





78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page